Close this search box.
Close this search box.

Press Release: Town Awards Pride of Clarkstown Awards on February 7th

Press Release: Town Awards Pride of Clarkstown Awards on February 7th 

For Immediate Release
February 1, 2017

Town Awards Pride of Clarkstown Awards on February 7th
Awards Showcase Best in Business

(New City, NY) – Supervisor George Hoehmann and the Town Board will award the 2016 Pride of Clarkstown Awards on Tuesday, February 7, 2017 at the Town Board Meeting scheduled for 7:30 pm at Clarkstown Town Hall, 10 Maple. Ave. 

The Pride of Clarkstown Awards program was created to recognize outstanding commercial properties throughout the Town , which make significant investments in the exterior of their properties, upgrading not only the look of their business, but also the community as a whole.  Businesses are nominated by individuals, civic organizations, and the Pride of Clarkstown Committee.  This is the 11th annual Pride of Clarkstown ceremony in which the winners will receive an attractive award to display at their place of business. 

This program, as well as the Pride of Clarkstown Committee, was established in 2006 under the leadership of the late Clarkstown Councilman Ralph Mandia.  The committee, comprised of volunteers, accepts nominations, separates them by various categories, and after careful consideration, selects the winners. 

“The Pride of Clarkstown initiative is a wonderful program designed to recognize property owners who have gone the extra mile to make sure their property is an example for others,” said Supervisor Hoehmann.  “By recognizing these businesses, it is desired that others follow their example and help to beautify our community.  I congratulate the winners and thank them for their efforts.”

“The committee of volunteers visited every nominated site and met numerous times to carefully choose winners in each category,” said Councilman John Noto, the Town Board Liaison for the Pride of Clarkstown Committee.  “Thank you to the members of the committee who have donated their time and talent to recognize businesses that are going above and beyond others in making our Town more attractive for all of us.” 

The Pride of Clarkstown awards serves as an incentive to business owners to take that extra step to make their property look beautiful.  The goal is that these voluntary, and often costly efforts, would prompt other business owners to do the same. Since its inception businesses are continuing to beautify their establishments in a unique public/private partnership that is not at the expense of our taxpayers, and creates a sense of civic pride throughout the Town.

“Thank you to the committee for their efforts over the year.  I had the pleasure to serve as the Town Board liaison since 2009, and I gratefully recognize the extraordinary volunteer participation they offer,” said Supervisor Hoehmann.   

A list of committee members and winners follows.

Pride of Clarkstown Committee Members
Councilman John J. Noto, Town Board Liaison
Scott Milich, Chairman
David Kaminski
Irene Ryan
Donald Ritch
Shirley Washington

Pride of Clarkstown 2016 Winners

Community Projects
Valley Cottage Fire District
Valley Cottage Fire Department Memorial Park

Professional Office
Verizon Wireless
4 Centerock Road
West Nyack

Service Business
Michael J. Higgins Funeral Service
321 South Main Street
New City

CubeSmart Self Storage
20 N Middletown Road

Nanuet Community Ambulance Corp., Inc.
255 S Middletown Road

Shopping Center/Retail
The Adler Family
Panera Bread Shopping Center
140 North Route 303
West Nyack

Martio’s Good News Pizza
171 Main Street